Trainee Farmer & Cleaner/Maintenance/Handyperson or Couple – March/April 2022

Jan 20, 2022

Two golden opportunities at the wonderful Abbey Home Farm in Gloucestershire.

Trainee Farmer

Abbey Home Farm is looking for an enthusiastic trainee stock person/general farm worker to join the small team on our mixed 650ha organic farm, near Cirencester. Enterprises include arable, beef, sheep, poultry, dairy, pigs, on-farm dairy processing and on-farm poultry processing. There is also a farm shop, camp site and an emphasis on public access and education.

Duties will include day to day work with the stock, relief milking and general farm work. An opportunity to extend skills and gain valuable experience. Enthusiasm, lots of energy and a genuine understanding of organic principles needed. Training will be given but some experience with stock is essential. Also an understanding that farming goes on whatever the weather!

Trainee/paid post dependant on experience. Accommodation can be available. After a trial period the traineeship would be for one year minimum.

CV and Letter of Interest to hilary.

Cleaner/Maintenance/Handyperson or Couple March/April 2022

The Farm Shop & Education Centre needs a person or couple who can take care of all the jobs around the farm shop and accomodations inside and out, to keep everything clean and tidy and working! This could work well for a couple to jobshare the work, as there is residential and commercial heavier cleaning plus maintenance, mowing, etc in the summer. For a couple there is a possibility of a house to rent on the farm.

We are looking to find one or two people who would love to join a very friendly team on our beautiful organic farm,

 

Our aim is to grow and raise  food for local people, to look after the land to the best of our ability and to  welcome the public to the shop, the café, the education centre and the holiday accommodation onsite.  There are around  25 adults  plus lots of children living on the farm and around 40 of us working here. There is a day nursery onsite for 2 – 5 year olds if a family is interested.

 

Experience in the following skills needed:

  • Basic plumbing jobs
  • Basic electrical jobs
  • Basic carpentry
  • Grass mowing & Strimming
  • Window cleaning
  • Painting (and tiling if possible)
  • Cleaning  ( there is quite a lot of shop and residential cleaning to do)
  • Window cleaning

 

Job description:

  • Keeping all areas tidy inside and out
  • Mowing grass, strimming,  sweeping,
  • Recycling, baling cardboard, cleaning shop and café
  • Weekly, assisting in garden if needed,
  • Assisting with any jobs on the farm and in the woodlands
  • Accomodation cleaning if desired, holiday cottages and farm houses

 

Attributes needed:

  • Enthusiasm
  • Flexibility
  • Can do attitude
  • Happy to work alone on jobs although people all around.
  • Enjoys always being busy!

 

There might be accommodation to rent on the farm if two people are employed with or without a family.

If you are interested in talking to us about this vacancy please email with a cv and covering letter saying why you might like to work here to: Hilary@theorganicfarmshop.co.uk

Please check your spam for a reply as our email often goes there!

Download full job description here.

Opportunity: Start your own small dairy

Opportunity: Start your own small dairy

Start your own biodynamic small dairy on the Inner Hebrides with help setting-up from wonderful WWOOF hosts. We have created a biodynamic farm on the inner Hebridean Island of Lismore, 38 acres. We have been here 13 years now and our cattle are ready to move up a...

New beginnings: first time WWOOFing in Wales

New beginnings: first time WWOOFing in Wales

By Joel Rouse WWOOFing in Pembrokeshire was like being in another world despite being only 235 miles from where I live and work as a photographer and part-time travel blogger. London is home, and I work on Whitehall - one of London's tourist hotspots, topped and...

Growing Roots in the Local Organic Farming Scene

Growing Roots in the Local Organic Farming Scene

By Aurora Moxon Hello, I’m Aurora, a thirty-two-year-old who is happiest in a pair of muddy wellies harvesting apples for scrumpy making, sowing veg for the year ahead and learning hands-on how to make cheese. If my hands aren’t covered in soil, scrumpy or curds, then...